6 Levels of Vegetarianism Quick Guide | How to Categorise Vegetarian

There are different explanations of different 6 levels of vegetarianism or different types of diets vegetarians do-follow. Here I wanted to explain the difference I understand from my point of view out of those Latin-like terms of vegetarianism. If you like to add something or oppose, you can for sure, explain it by your comment.

Let’s take a brief look below at types and levels of vegetarianism:

6 levels of vegetariansm quick guide

Type 1 – Pescatarian (Pescetarian)

These types of vegetarians are the ones that will choose not to eat any kind of meat or animal flesh other than fish. Although the term isn’t used very often there are many people who are choosing to adopt this type of vegetarian diet. Normally they do so because of health issues or before they decide to move on to become a full-fledged vegetarian.

Type 2 – Semi-Vegetarian (Flexitarian)

This is the kind of person who chooses to mainly follow a vegetarian diet, but will occasionally choose to eat meat as well.

Type 3 – Vegetarian

Most people when they hear the term vegetarian will, of course, think of someone who doesn’t eat animal flesh of any kind including fish. However, these people do continue to eat eggs and dairy products. In fact what these people are referred to, as is being a Lacto-Ovo vegetarian.

There may, however, be some people at your barbecue who are Lacto-vegetarians, meaning that they will continue to include dairy products in their diet but not eggs. Whereas those known only as an Ovo-vegetarian (a vegetarian whose diet includes milk, vegetables, fruits, grains, and nuts) will, of course, continue to eat eggs but will exclude dairy products from their diet.

You might also want to see this: (Vegetarian) Best smoked corn on the cob recipe

Type 4 – Vegan

The levels of vegetarianism don’t end here but this is the strictest of all diets that vegetarians will follow. These are the kind of people who will not eat any kind of meat or fish and will not consume eggs or dairy products. Furthermore, they won’t eat any processed foods because they are likely to contain ingredients derived from animals.

Type 5 – Raw Vegan

Such people will only eat foods that have been unprocessed meaning that they haven’t been heated above 115 degrees Fahrenheit. The people who follow this particular diet believe that when food has been cooked above this temperature it loses a large amount of the nutrients contained within it and so is harmful to their bodies.

Type 6 – Macrobiotic

This is considered by some to be the healthiest of all vegetarian diets one can follow. It requires the eating of unprocessed vegan foods such as fruits, vegetables, and whole grains. However, unlike some of the other vegetarian diets mentioned above, it does allow the follower to eat fish occasionally. They do however avoid the consumption of sugars and refined oils. Also when following this diet, there is a lot of emphases placed on the eating of Asian vegetables such as sea vegetables (seaweed) and daikon.

These are what I think about vegetarianism. If you agree with them or like to add more, share your comments with us.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button